Partner Universities

The two-year Masters Course builds on the expertise of five European universities: 

Associate partners

The Consortium has four associate partners selected for their broads tropical forestry research and teaching programmes. There is one associate partner in each of the three continents relevant to tropical forestry: Institute of Forestry at Tribhuvan University in Nepal; Faculty of Forestry at the Sokoine University of Agriculture in Tanzania; Makerere University, Uganda and the Centro Agronómico Tropical de Investigación y Enseñanza in Costa Rica.

The associate partners contribute to the SUTROFOR programme through joint implementation of the Sustainable Tropical Forest School and through hosting of MSc thesis students.

The staff

The core staff consists of internationally recognised specialists. In total, more than 50 faculty members participate in the SUTROFOR Programme.

Apart from the permanent staff, the European Commission annually supports a number of international scholars within the field of sustainable forest and nature management. The international scholars join the SUTROFOR Programme in order to lecture, supervise and/or participate in the Sustainable Tropical Forestry School.

Dresden University og Technology University of Copenhagen Bangor University AgriParisTech-ENGREF University of Padova Centro Agronómico Tropical de Investigación y Enseñanza (CATIE), Costa Rica Faculty of Forestry and Nature Conservation, Sokoine University of Agriculture (SUA), Tanzania Institute of Forestry (IOF), Tribhuvan University, Nepal