Programme structure – University of Copenhagen

SUTROFOR > About SUTROFOR > Course structure

Programme structure

The MSc in Sustainable Tropical Forestry comprises a first year of study at one of three partner institutions:

  • University of Copenhagen
  • Bangor University
  • Dresden University of Technology

For the second year of study, students choose a specialisation to be completed at a different partner institution, hence students cannot complete the first and second year of study at the same institution.

The choice of mobility tracks, including choice of specialisations, are made at the time of application. Please note that this choice of mobility-track is binding.


Change of institution - cannot be the same first and second year

SECOND YEAR (60 ECTS) Specialisations:

Course work

Three joint courses
(20 ECTS)

Forests and livelihoods in developing countries

Course work

Agroforestry systems

Course work

Tropical forest management

Environmental management and policies for tropical forests


Social and environmental responsibility in tropical forestry

The first year of studies provides students with a thorough and broad introduction to sustainable tropical forestry and end with the Sustainable Tropical Forestry School, introducing fieldwork in a developing country.

The language of instruction is English, apart from the second year specialisation in Montpellier, which is available in French and requires specific language skills in French.